top of page

About Us

The Hobart-Lawrence Police Department was established in 2001 as a cooperative department, providing the Village of Hobart and the Town of Lawrence the highest quality policing services at the lowest cost to taxpayers. 


The department's mission statement was developed by the officers of the Hobart-Lawrence Police Department with the intention to be a constant reminder of our purpose in our communities. The mission statement of the Hobart-Lawrence Police Department is as follows:


By consistent commitment to excellence, we respect and protect the rights of all people, and through innovative partnerships, with our stakeholders, we reduce crime and the fear of crime within our communities.   

Our department operates through a set of enduring core values that form the foundation of our organizations character.  These values guide our officers actions and are defined by the way they are lived. 

Commitment           Integrity          Dignity          Compassion

The Hobart-Lawrence Police Department is staffed by:

Chief of Police:

Michael Renkas



Brent Olson


Investigative and Support Services

  • One   (1) - Investigator

  • Two   (2) - Community /School Resource Officers

  • One   (1) - Therapy K9

  • One   (1) - Full-Time Assistant / Records


  • Two  (2) - Patrol Sergeants

  • Eight (8) - Patrol Officers

  • Two  (2) - Part-Time Patrol Officers

  • One  (1) - K-9 

bottom of page