

RESOLUTION 2023-01

A RESOLUTION ACKNOWLEDGING AND HONORING POLICE CHIEF RANDY BANI FOR HIS SERVICE TO THE VILLAGE OF HOBART AND TOWN OF LAWRENCE

BY THE VILLAGE BOARD OF THE VILLAGE OF HOBART, WISCONSIN:

WHEREAS, Randy Bani began his career in law enforcement, fire, and rescue services in 1981 after completing his degree in Criminal Justice; and

WHEREAS, Randy was trained and certified in police, fire, and rescue services and held many titles and ranks during his work, achieving investigator, firefighter, and paramedic status; and

WHEREAS, Randy retired from Ashwaubenon in 2010, although he joined the Hobart/Lawrence Police in April 2003 as a part time investigator for the department; and

WHEREAS, Randy was selected to attend the FBI National Academy in 2004, which accepts less than one percent of its applicants, and, while at the Academy, he was promoted to Chief of Police for the HLPD, and carefully juggled both careers in law enforcement until his retirement from Ashwaubenon; and

WHEREAS, the Hobart-Lawrence Police Department, under Randy's guidance and leadership, has grown as have the two communities it serves and protects, expanding to include a Police Captain, two sergeants, a K-9 program and a legion of dedicated officers who provide 24-hour coverage to the communities; and

WHEREAS, Hobart and Lawrence are consistently ranked as one of the safest areas to live and work in Wisconsin, and an integral component in those rankings has been the steady hand at the top; and

WHEREAS, Randy Bani has officially retired as Police Chief of the Hobart-Lawrence Police Department, effective January 2nd 2023.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Village Board of the Village of Hobart, Brown County, Wisconsin does hereby acknowledge and honor the contributions and service to the Hobart-Lawrence Police Department, and to the residents of both communities, that Randy Bani has provided for the past two decades, and does hereby encourage all residents in joining with them in wishing him a well-deserved, long retirement.

Adopted this 3rd day of January, 2023

Richard Heidel, Village Board President

Katrung Bruecker
Katrina Bruecker, Village Clerk / Treasurer

Aaron Kramer, Village Administrator